00:53 AM

SRP Announces Board and Council Election Results

Voters in the Salt River Project elections held on Tuesday, April 2, filled 22 seats on the board and council of the Salt River Project Agricultural Improvement and Power District (District) and 20 seats of the Salt River Valley Water Users' Association (Association). 

Based on unofficial results, incumbent Larry D. Rovey (District 1) was re-elected to his seat on the Association and Kevin J. Johnson (Division 1) was re-elected to his seat on the District.

Other unofficial results for winners of board seats on both the Association and the District are as follows:

District 3: Mario J. Herrera (incumbent)

District 5: Stephen H. Williams (incumbent)

District 7: Nick Brown

District 9: Robert C. Arnett (incumbent)

District At-large Seats:

District 11: Casey Clowes

District 13: Sandra Kennedy

Unofficial results for winners of council seats on both the Association and the District are:

District 1: Tyler M. Francis, Ronald S. Kolb, Clifford Leatherwood (incumbents)

District 3: Aaron M. Herrera, Richard W. Swier, Paul A. Van Hofwegen (incumbents)

District 5:  John R. “Rocky” Shelton, John R. Augustine, John Weston “Wes” Lines (incumbents)

District 7: Eric Gorsegner, Colleen Resch-Geretti, Barry E. Paceley (incumbent)

District 9: A. Allen Freeman, Mark A. Freeman, Adam Hatley (incumbents)

Results from Tuesday’s election become official after a canvass by the SRP Board at its next meeting on Monday, April 8.  The newly elected officials will take office May 6 and 7. The unofficial 2024 election results are available on the SRP Elections website at www.srp.net/results.

SRP is composed of two separate organizations: the Salt River Valley Water Users' Association, a private water corporation formed in 1903; and the Salt River Project Agricultural Improvement and Power District, an agricultural improvement district and a political subdivision of the State of Arizona formed in 1937 that oversees SRP’s electric operations.

Each company of SRP is governed separately. SRP board members establish policy, approve annual budgets, and set prices and fees. SRP council members amend and enact bylaws and make appointments to fill vacancies on the SRP boards, councils or positions of President and Vice President. The terms of SRP board and council seats are all four years.


About SRP

SRP is a community-based, not-for-profit public power utility and the largest electricity provider in the greater Phoenix metropolitan area, serving approximately 1.1 million customers. SRP provides water to about half of the Valley’s residents, delivering more than 244 billion gallons of water (750,000 acre-feet) each year, and manages a 13,000-square-mile watershed that includes an extensive system of reservoirs, wells, canals and irrigation laterals.